Friday, January 06, 2012

Biglietto, 2012

Here, in the Vatican's traditional precedence order, Pope Benedict's slate of cardinals-designate to be elevated on 18 February:
  • Fernando Filoni, prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples;
  • Manuel Monteiro de Castro, Major Penitentiary of the Roman Church;
  • Santos Abril y Castell√≥, archpriest of St Mary Major;
  • Antonio Maria Vegli√≥, president of the Pontifical Council for Migrants and Refugees;
  • Giuseppe Bertello, president of the Government of the Vatican City-State;
  • Francesco Coccopalmerio, president of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts
  • Joao Braz de Aviz, prefect of the Congregation for Religious;
  • Edwin Frederick O'Brien, grand master of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre;
  • Domenico Calcagno, president of the Administration of the Patrimony of the Apostolic See;
  • Giuseppe Versaldi, president of the Prefecture for the Economic Affairs of the Holy See;
  • George Alencherry, Major-Archbishop of Erkugnalam-Angamaly of the Syro-Malybars;
  • Thomas Christopher Collins, archbishop of Toronto;
  • Dominik Duka OP, archbishop of Prague;
  • Willem Jacobus Eijk, archbishop of Utrecht;
  • Giuseppe Betori, archbishop of Florence;
  • Timothy Michael Dolan, archbishop of New York;
  • Rainer Maria Woelki, archbishop of Berlin;
  • John Tong Hon, bishop of Hong Kong

...and likewise, the designates older than 80 -- and, ergo, unable to enter a conclave --who are given the red hat as an "honorary" gesture:

  • Lucien Muresan, major archbishop of Fagaras and Alba Julia of the Romanians;
  • Fr Julien Ries, Belgian historian/anthropologist of religion;
  • Prosper Grech OSA, Maltese Biblical scholar;
  • Karl Josef Becker SJ